Supreme Court upholds Administration’s newest travel restrictions - (12/19/17)

*Updated 1/2/18: On December 23, 2017, a federal judge in Washington state issued a ruling blocking parts of the Administration's travel ban that limits entry into the United States by refugees from several majority Muslim nations. The ruling does not apply to "those refugees who lack a bona fide relationship with a person or entity in the United States" and the travel ban otherwise remains in effect.

Earlier this month, the U.S. Supreme Court granted the Trump Administration’s request for full enforcement of his September Presidential Proclamation, lifting two injunctions issued in October by federal judges in Maryland and Hawaii that had partially blocked its implementation. The Supreme Court’s announcement means that until further court action, the ban goes into full effect and nationals of Iran, Libya, Syria, Yemen, Somalia and Chad are restricted from traveling to the United States, as well as all immigrants and non-immigrants from North Korea and certain government officials and their family members from Venezuela traveling on business or tourist visas (B-1/B-2).

As a reminder, it is possible that case-by-case waivers from the restrictions may be available. The Proclamation includes a list of potential circumstances under which individual waivers might apply, including:  

(C)  the foreign national seeks to enter the United States for significant business or professional obligations and the denial of entry would impair those obligations;

The U.S. Department of Homeland Security has posted a Fact Sheet and FAQ webpage that provides initial details about the specific restrictions and potential waivers. will be updated with additional information for artists as further details regarding implementation are available.